Forum: Writer's aids

Discussing: Writing tips for new authors

Writing tips for new authors

This seemed like a good place to share my advice on writing fanfic for new writers. The following is an article first published An Idiosyncratic Review, in its final issue. Hopefully, new writers will find it informative and entertaining at the same time. Feel free to comment, ask questions, or post your own tips for successful writing to this topic.

Tips from a Successful Fanfic Writer

I've been a writer ("one who writes") since at least my preteen years. I've been a reader since long before that. As it turns out, now that I'm in my latter-twenties, I'm pretty good at both. Or so people tell me. I get great reviews on my stories, but I'm also told I'm a good editor. So I want to share with other aspiring fanfic (or profic, for that matter) writers some of the things I've learned along the way.

Everyone practices the craft a little differently. Some write longhand; some write on the computer. Me, I write on a Palm Pilot. Some use notes and outlines; some just start writing and see where it leads them. None of that really matters. I write on a Palm Pilot, not because I write better on a Palm Pilot but because I can write while riding the subway or while I'm walking. I can't do that longhand and my mid-tower PC doesn't sit on my lap very well. Write however works best for you. If you can't get your juices flowing without a pen and paper, then use a pen and paper. If you can write while walking down a busy street, use whatever you can!

So it's not about the medium you use to write. It's about the story. It's about the characters. It's about bringing what's in your imagination to life in others'. For me, it's story eggs--sounds silly perhaps, but I'm hoping it will make sense for you when I get done.