Forum: Writer's aids

Discussing: New writers

New writers

As a new/less skilled writer, I would like to discuss improving one's writing, methods of getting help, what is helpful, etc.

I am transferring some of a good discussion from a different forum to start us off.

Lyllyn

Re: New writers

It isn't a bad thing to be known for resources rather than acceptance, but I have heard several people comment that they wanted to get MORE people involved and writing. These are just a few of my observations as to why I haven't felt like more than an 'unwelcomed guest'. Perhaps if you wanted to be more 'newbie' friendly you could try and be more aware that people other than your tight circle of friends was reading what you post?

Ariel, I have been a member since August, and have felt some of what you are feeling. I haven't read some of the popular works, or they haven't inspired me to discussion whether I liked/disliked them. And I'm crazy about some works that don't get discussed, such as Miss Padfoot's 'Exile.'

My take on this is that's it's like being the new kid in school. No one's being rude, but it's up to the individual to get involved and find the area they want to talk about. For me, it was Resources and research articles. I do see what you mean about new people. I've been thinking about how to get the newer, or in my case, less skilled writers to feel that there is a place to focus on them. Whether to form small groups to workshop each other's writing, or some other method.

So, I challenge you to come up with some suggestions as to how make new members/writers more a part of HASA. Established friendships will exist, and those with particular interests in each other's work will continue to discuss it. Many of us have limited time. What new and wonderful thing can we craft out of this?

Lyllyn

I've been thinking about how to get the newer, or in my case, less skilled writers to feel that there is a place to focus on them.