Forum: Prospective Challenges

Discussing: Children's Poetry Challenge

Children's Poetry Challenge

Hullo everybody.

I'm kinda new to these parts and so I'm a bit shy about opening a new challenge. What the heck, right? I'm just gonna hold my nose and jump. What's the worst that could happen? Well, best not to contemplate that just now...

Well, here it is: I think it would be sweet and perhaps a bit of fun for us to write a little poem, or fairytale in the form of a poem for the young 'uns. Think of yourself as ME's Mother Goose, or The Brothers' Grimm, if you prefer.

Take the character(s), place(s) or event(s) that you like best and write a verse that the rug-rats--ooops, I mean the little darlings, would find enchanting. If you don't want to write about people or events that we already know, make some up! Write a poem about a naughty little boy from Rohan who teases the hoarses and puts ink in peoples tea! Or a Hobbit cobbler with a penchant for liquorish!

Well, there it is. Please don't hurt me.

Lasbelindi

Re: Children's Poetry Challenge

I think this would be a great challenge! Now, we just need five vict-er, volunteers.

I don't think one would require a particular knack for poetry, though it would be good... and it would be great fun, too.

Thanks for responding, Klose. I'm just a little unsure how to go about generating interest for this little challenge. Any suggestions?

Lasbelindi

Hi Lasbelindi!

I agree that this would be a very interesting challenge. There's a lot in LotR that lends itself very well to this genre. I recall Gandalf reminding Theoden that any child of the Rohirrim would have immediately known who and what the Ents were. A lot of people forget that in RL nursery rhymes and fables are based on some very adult topics.