Forum: Prospective Challenges

Discussing: Science in Middle Earth

Science in Middle Earth

Hi folks,

This is just a wee topic that I sometimes day-dream about when I'm supposed to be working etc. If you landed in Middle Earth say during the War of the Ring (or your favourite age Gondolin? Hollin?) and survived through to see Aragorn become king-how would you like to contribute to society? With 21st Century knowledge how would you contribute?

I'm a geologist so sciences are what I love but I was thinking about how in times of peace Rangers of Ithilien could become scientists for Aragorn's kingdoms. For example they could use their knowledge of the land and animals to evaluate the impact of new settlements of humans and elves on the flora and fauna of Ithilien. Helping Aragorn to let Ithilien blossom and re-habilitate and remediate battle grounds and land polluted by Sauron's forces?

I guess there's lots of room here so let me know if anyone shares my interests,

Cheers,

Littlelosthobbit

Re: Science in Middle Earth

Hello LittleLostHobbit!

This sounds like an interesting topic, as it's been trying to shuffle its way into one of my wips. I'm sure I could whip up a drabble, is there a deadline yet?

Fae

No deadline. WIPs very much appreciated. It's just a series of thoughts I really enjoy exploring and would love to work with some authors on these topics if they interest you.

LHL

Hi folks,

This is just a wee topic that I sometimes day-dream about when I'm supposed to be working etc. If you landed in Middle Earth say during the War of the Ring (or your favourite age Gondolin? Hollin?) and survived through to see Aragorn become king-how would you like to contribute to society? With 21st Century knowledge how would you contribute?