Forum: Prospective Challenges

Discussing: Pub Crawl

Pub Crawl

I would like to know if anyone thinks the following idea could make an interesting challenge. How about writing a story about an evening in "The Prancing Pony"? Who could be there? Dwarves, men, Dúnedain, hobbits? Others? A disguised elf? How about a birthday-party? A business meeting? Or just a chance encounter between strangers? Would there be only talking or also singing and dancing? Gossip? Rumour? Drunkards? (I feel very bold to post an idea here... and very nervous... I have never done that before...) Edit: The challenge is up and running. The discussion to go with it can be found here.

Re: Pub Crawl

Mmmm! Splendid stuff Juno! Are you Brit by any chance? It's a good while since I went pub crawling - the lovely old student days having ended a long while back. :S This is really a challenge for everyone. Could the first meeting between Strider and Gandalf have taken place at this very inn? The possibilities are endless! Come on folks! Make yourselves at home at the Prancing Pony! nrink

I'm German... ...but we know about "pub crawls", too. ;-) This nûzgul has been biting me for quite some time. I've "been" to the "Pony" in several of my stories and I keep thinking that I would simply love to spend an evening there... just sitting in a corner with a good mug of beer or a nice glass of wine... watching and listening... Thanks for the thumbs up! Cheers! Juno

This sounds like a great idea! I was wondering how you would feel, Juno, about broadening the challenge beyond just the Prancing Pony? That could be an option, but what about meeting up in other drinking places. In Minas Tirith? Or Edoras? Or Lake-Town? I know of a few members who could be interested in any one of those three options. Of course, it's your idea and it's always up to the person who proposes the challenge to decide its limits. Cheryl