Forum: Prospective Challenges

Discussing: ...like a red haired stepchild

...like a red haired stepchild

Anybody who has been in contact with me here at HASA knows that I have an undying love for redheads. Hence this tri-faceted idea for a challenge:

1- Write about what it is like to be one of the few redheads in Middle earth. Use known canon characters (Mahedros, Amrod, Amras, Dwarves could probably work- any others that you can find!) or make an OC/OFC. Middle earth needs more carrot tops, anyway, IMO. Bonus points for setting it during a less frequently-written time period.

2- Write about Middle earth's adopted children or anyone taken under a non-biological parent's wing.

3- And the combination: Write about those scorned characters who might have felt like a "red haired stepchild." Explore the feelings of persons who feel unwanted or persecuted for being different.

This may be way too vague- I'm still new at all this!

Re: ...like a red haired stepchild

Thevina wrote:

I have an undying love for redheads

It's nice to be loved

Well... *blushes* I am a redhead too. So the color doesn't quite grow out of my head that way, but that is easily solved.

Oh you two are cute! Hmmm...I'm highly tempted now to start a poll on member hair colour.

Thevina wrote:

I have an undying love for redheads

It's nice to be loved

Seconded!

This is crazy! My favorite authors at HASA, somewhat anonymous as you all are, have red hair.

I always knew I had great taste.

That and redheads are so unique, I should hardly be surprised that you talented folk share my favorite hair color.

Then again, nobody seems to excited about my challenge idea. Oh well. At least one of the winning Mithril Awards stories was about Amrod and Amras.

~Thevina, basking in the redhaired glory
(p.s. at least in Harry Potter there's a whole fabulous family of redheads. Go Weasleys!!)