Forum: Research Questions

Discussing: A horsey question

A horsey question

Are horses let out to pasture at a particular point in the spring or summer, or does it depend on the climate? I've got a sentence or two that I want to be credible; dealing with a stable, and how many horses were in it in April in Fourth Age Ithilien. I'm assuming some of the horses would be let out to pasture, which I guess means day and night. (does it?) Would pregnant mares be stabled or let out to pasture? I have to have at least one pregnant mare in the stable on a particular night at that time.... RAKSHA THE DEMON

Re: A horsey question

I'm not a horse expert by any means, but.... April in Ithilien would be quite warm, summery, I would think, since it's so far south. Horses can be pastured at any time of the year, though in the winter they're often brought in at night. If you need most of the horses out, then April is warm enough that they can be out day and night, and the grass is green enough to feed them if they aren't doing much work. If you need most of them in, then the possibility of sudden, urgent need will explain it--no one wants to chase a horse around the pasture when the orcs are attacking, after all, or even when a message needs to be sent to Gondor. If there is a danger of predators--orcs, wolves, or (in Michigan in the autumn) hunters with bad eye-sight--they would all be brought in at night. Mares in foal (horsy term for pregnant) would probably be brought in at night, winter or summer, especially towards the end of their term. April is a likely enough month for the mare to have her foal, so it would be reasonable for her to be in the stable. Very few people want their mares to give birth out in the pasture, since it makes it difficult to discover an emergency before it becomes a tragedy for both mare and foal. So in other words, you can have your pregnant mare(s) and as many or as few other horses in the stable as you like.