Forum: Research Questions

Discussing: sparring

sparring

What would be a likely habit or error in sword technique that a sparring opponent could take advantage of? I' m particularly interested in something that an observer or past partner would notice and coach a new opponent to exploit.

TIA

Lyllyn

Re: sparring

I have used things such as drawing back before the strike (as opposed to simply striking forward with the blow) and being slow to defend - not raising the guard high enough, quick enough -especially as they tired, ... BUT these are only supposition, I have NO real experience in this sort of thing and would love to see some discussion on it.