Forum: Elena Tiriel - Star Gazings

Discussing: [Inactive] Fortune's Intrigue - beta (Replaced by Fortune's Paradox)

[Inactive] Fortune's Intrigue - beta (Replaced by Fortune's Paradox)

Hi everyone, I would be most grateful if you could give me any feedback on my beta story, Fortune's Intrigue. I am a brand-new author, so please be merciLESS! I need all the help I can get! Thank you in advance for your time and effort! Best regards, Barbara aka Elena Tiriel

Re: Fortune's Intrigue

Hi Barbara

I said this over on the HA list, but wanted to say it here as well:

I thought this was great! Very well written - I got the "joke" at just the right point to be able to really enjoy it. (Your "author's notes" were also pretty darn funny!)

I think you have produced a great example of a MarySue-type character who transcends and subverts the cliches through excellent writing, so that she *isn't* a MarySue. (And, after all, where was all the stuff about her "tossing her rippling chestnut locks and staring up at him from her big violet eyes"?!?)

Can't wait to see the next part!

Liz

Hi Barbara

sorry to bring you down with a bump, but I just saw a standard MarySue in the "In Caras Galathon, Seven Years Later" chapter and therefore didn't really enjoy it. I kept waiting for you to subvert the MarySueness as as you did in the previous chapter but didn't see it happen

It's still very nicely written in terms of your use of language, but - as a MarySue hater - the plot side just seemed dull to me and I struggled to care about these people. I'm not sure I really learned anything new about them that wasn't in the previous story.

I feel very mean saying all of this, especially after the first piece delighted me so much, but it just wasn't my cup of tea...

All the best

Liz

Hi Liz,

Your comments aren't mean, they're incredibly valuable! Thank you!

Yes, this chapter is a bit, um, ordinary. Maybe I should shorten it?