Forum: Writing Mary Sue: the Mother of Challenges

Discussing: Halbarad

Halbarad

So, um, what does the canon have to say about Halbarad's love life?

Re: Halbarad

Absolutely nothing. Write away!

He has so much potential!

I see him as galant, yet with a quiet reserve....sturdy & intelligent but intuitive in the way men used to the wilds are.....

I really am intrigued by the possibilities...Too bad I have to work for a living.

Give me a seed and I may throw an illustration at you....
What do you think he looks like?

E.W.

*bounce*

Wow, what a lovely prospect!

Mm, let's see. He's fairly big; lean, but because of his lifestyle more than his genes. He leads with his shoulders. He has the sort of face that could get away with a moustache (!). His hair is still mostly black, though he's only a few years younger than Aragorn, and he tends to wear it down. He's shy. He's a tremendously good captain, but he's shy and he turns pink when he's embarrassed.

My ideas are very mutable, so let me know what you're thinking. If you're looking for inspiration, I can toss you a story outline.

Stulti, psyched

I'm thinking of a trimmed down, lighter boned, Tom Selek sort. He blushes beautifully AND has great mustache face!

E.W.

Alrighty. Dusk and Dawn is in the beta section. It's short. I had a great long chapter book all planned, with lots of action and mushy love scenes, but it got utterly hijacked by a noisy OMC and Aragorn pulling a Dilbert. I salvaged the planned beginning and end from the chaos, and I want to know:

Does it work as a vignette all by its lonesome?
Is it choppy? Where?

Thanks, y'all!

I don't know what I'm going to do with all that material involving Amlong and his big mouth now. Geez.

- Stulti