Forum: Prospective Challenges

Discussing: Challenge Assistants

Challenge Assistants

Please contact me for details. The duties are fairly simple and not very time consuming. I especially need adult [over 18] assistants to set up adult challenges.

RiverOtter

Re: Challenge Assistants

I wanted to elaborate a little bit on what RiverOtter is asking for. I was a challenges manager at one time and have been doing a lot of the things CAs do. Unfortunately the Middle-earth Fanfiction Awards are taking up most of my fandom time these days and so I can't devote the energy I need to to this work. But it's really fun, and I hope some of you guys can help out!

So without further adieu, here are some of the things that a Challenges Assistant could do.

1. Prospective Challenges Watcher

When someone posts to this forum, you would repllly to them about the challenge idea. Try to get people excited about it. If a piecce gets five volunteers, then you would handle setting up the challenge so that it appears in the Challenges section of the website.

This job needs a lot of energy and an ability to get others excited. You also need to be available pretty regularly. It doesn't require a lot of time, but it can be hard to predict when you might be needed.

2. Birthday Drabbles Manager

A little before the beginning of each month you would post a new thread to the Birthday Drabbles thread inviting people with birthdays that month to post requests for drabblers. You would watch that forum, and if a thread reaches fifty posts or more you would start a new thread. You'd also set up a challenge for the birthday drabbles to go into. These drabble requests are very much like challenges and almost always there are five or more written in a month, so it makes sense to create a challenge out of them, and display them to site visitors in the public side of Challenges.